Loading
The Oregon Administrative Rules contain OARs filed through July 15, 2016
 
QUESTIONS ABOUT THE CONTENT OR MEANING OF THIS AGENCY'S RULES?
CLICK HERE TO ACCESS RULES COORDINATOR CONTACT INFORMATION

 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

 

DIVISION 70

CONTINUING OPTOMETRIC EDUCATION

852-070-0005

Definitions

“Hour” means clock hour of 60 minutes of instruction time, plus or minus 10 minutes. “Half-hour” means 30 minutes of instruction time, plus or minus five minutes.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683 & 182
Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.210 & 182.466
Hist.: OE 16, f. 2-11-74, ef. 3-11-74; OE 2-1984, f. & ef. 7-14-84; OP 1-1987, f. & ef. 4-30-87; OPT 2-1998, f. 6-10-98, cert. ef. 6-15-98; OPT 1-2009, f. 6-10-09, cert. ef. 7-1-09; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13

852-070-0010

Requirement of Continuing Optometric Education

The Oregon Board of Optometry is committed to ensuring the continuing education of its licensees for the protection, safety and wellbeing of the public. Continuing education is required to maintain and advance the professional skills and abilities of licensees and to educate optometric physicians in the application and use of new techniques, scientific and clinical advances and the achievements of research to ensure expansive and comprehensive care to the public.

(1) Every active status licensed optometric physician must complete at least 18 hours of clinical optometric courses each license year as a condition of license renewal. Continuing education hours cover 12-month periods and must be reported with license renewal applications. Upon written request, the licensee may carry forward approved excess CE hours completed in the prior license year to the current license year.

(2) Of the required 18 hours, at least nine hours each license year must be in the area of diagnosis, treatment and management of ocular disease (TMOD). The licensee must be the first or second author of the article or paper and the paper must have been published in the CE reporting period.

(3) Optometric physicians must complete one hour of approved credit for an optometric ethics or Oregon law course every other license year, regardless of credits carried forward under (1) of this section. Licensees may receive one hour of optometric ethics/Oregon law credit per year for verified attendance of at least one hour at an official meeting of the Oregon Board of Optometry.

(4) One hour of Board approved cultural competency continuing education may be used toward satisfying the required number of non-TMOD hours each license year.

(5) Credit will be given for no more than five hours of live observation in an approved surgical facility per license year.

(6) The required hours of continuing education used to meet the CE requirement each license year must be of different course content. When the Board determines that a licensee has submitted a course or lecture essentially identical to another presentation submitted for credit in the same license renewal period, credit will be given for only one.

(7) Credit will be given for no more than 2 hours for each publication of a qualifying article or paper.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683 & 182
Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.140, 683.270, 683.210 & 182.466
Hist.: OE 16, f. 2-11-74, ef. 3-11-74; OE 1-1978, f. & ef. 1-25-78; OE 1-1984, f. & ef. 1-13-84; OE 2-1984, f. & ef. 7-14-84; OP 1-1987, f. & ef. 4-30-87; OP 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-27-93; OP 1-1994, f. 5-4-94, cert. ef. 5-9-94; OP 1-1996, f. 6-27-96, cert. ef. 7-1-96; OPT 2-1998, f. 6-10-98, cert. ef. 6-15-98; OPT 2-1999, f. 12-29-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OPT 1-2001, f. 6-18-01, cert. ef. 7-1-01; OPT 2-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 1-1-04; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13; OPT 2-2014, f. 11-28-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15; OPT 3-2014, f. 12-29-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15; OPT 1-2016, f. 2-23-16, cert. ef. 4-1-16

852-070-0016

Continuing Optometric Education Not Required for Inactive Licenses

(1) Those licensees who have been granted inactive status by the Board are not required to complete the continuing optometric education requirement in OAR 852-070-0010.

(2) If an inactive licensee applies to change to active status, the licensee must comply with OAR 852-070-0010 for the continuing education license year previous to the year in which active status is granted by the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683
Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.210
Hist.: OP 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-27-93; OPT 2-1998, f. 6-10-98, cert. ef. 6-15-98; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13; OPT 2-2014, f. 11-28-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15; OPT 3-2014, f. 12-29-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15

852-070-0020

Application for Credit

Each continuing education offering must be approved by the Board in order for an optometric physician to obtain credit. Upon application the Board may:

(1) Grant credit, to the extent determined by it, for any course, or individual or group study deemed suitable to carry out the purposes of ORS 683.210. To be granted credit, any course offering must be open to all optometric physicians licensed in Oregon.

(2) Grant credit, to the extent determined by it, for publication of articles and papers of scientific and educational interest published in recognized scientific publications. The licensee must be the first or second author to earn credit and the paper must have been published in the licensee’s CE reporting period.

(3) Grant credit, to the extent determined by it, for courses that relate to the maintenance or advancement of professional skills and abilities. Courses that relate primarily to practice management or jurisprudence will not be granted credit.

(4) Teaching courses at an accredited health care institution or accredited optometric school or university and meet the requirements of 852-070-0010.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683
Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.210 & 683.270
Hist.: OE 16, f. 2-11-74, ef. 3-11-74; OE 2-1979, f. & ef. 10-29-79; OE 2-1983, f. & ef. 2-22-83; OE 2-1984, f. & ef. 7-14-84; OP 1-1987, f. & ef. 4-30-87; OP 1-1989, f. 1-13-89, cert. ef. 1-16-89; OPT 2-1998, f. 6-10-98, cert. ef. 6-15-98; OPT 2-1999, f.12-29-99, cert. ef.1-1-00; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13; OPT 2-2014, f. 11-28-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15; OPT 3-2014, f. 12-29-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15; OPT 1-2016, f. 2-23-16, cert. ef. 4-1-16

852-070-0025

Credit for Conducting Course or Presenting Material

Any optometric physician who prepares and presents a continuing education course approved for credit by the Board is entitled to three hours of continuing education credit for each credit hour of the initial presentation of the course. No credit will be given for repeat presentations unless application for credit has been filed in advance with the Board and appropriate evidence submitted that additional study or research was necessary for such additional presentation. The Board may then grant, to the extent deemed suitable by it, credit for the additional presentation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683
Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.210
Hist.: OE 16, f. 2-11-74, ef. 3-11-74; OE 2-1984, f. & ef. 7-14-84; OPT 2-2014, f. 11-28-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15; OPT 3-2014, f. 12-29-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15

852-070-0030

CE Requirements for Applicants and First-Time Renewals

(1) Applicants must meet the requirements for continuing education for initial licensure based on when they graduated from optometry school:

(a) Applicants who submit completed applications and are licensed less than one year after graduation from optometry school are not required to submit continuing education for initial licensure.

(b) Applicants receiving initial licensure one year or more after graduation from optometry school must submit required continuing education to receive initial licensure.

(2) All active status licensees must submit continuing education for their first license renewal that falls one year or more after graduation from optometry school.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 182 & 683
Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.210 & 182.466
Hist.: OE 16, f. 2-11-74, ef. 3-11-74; OE 2-1984, f. & ef. 7-14-84; OP 1-1987, f. & ef. 4-30-87; OP 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-94; OPT 2-1998, f. 6-10-98, cert. ef. 6-15-98; OPT 1-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-05; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13; OPT 2-2014, f. 11-28-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15; OPT 3-2014, f. 12-29-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15

852-070-0035

Responsibility to Notify Board

(1) Each active licensee must notify the Board of Optometry in writing of completion of the required hours of approved continuing education credits as part of the license renewal per OAR 852-050-0006.

(2) Notification for at least the total number of required hours must be submitted at one time.

(3) If sufficient proof of continuing education is not received by the Board by the license year renewal period deadline, the license will not be renewed until the continuing education deficiency is made up in a manner acceptable to and approved by the Board.

(4) Licensees must submit original certificates of attendance or other proof of attendance acceptable to the Board when selected for audit or required to submit to renew a lapsed or late license.

(5) Any licensee who has completed the required continuing optometric education course work by the license year renewal period but fails to meet the submission deadline is subject to a late fee as listed in OAR 852-010-0080.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683
Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.210
Hist.: OE 16, f. 2-11-74, ef. 3-11-74; OE 1-1984, f. & ef. 1-13-84; OP 1-1987, f. & ef. 4-30-87; OP 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-27-93; OPT 2-1998, f. 6-10-98, cert. ef. 6-15-98; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13; OPT 2-2014, f. 11-28-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15; OPT 3-2014, f. 12-29-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15; OPT 1-2016, f. 2-23-16, cert. ef. 4-1-16

852-070-0037

Continuing Education Reporting and Audit

(1) Optometric Physicians seeking to renew their active status license shall submit with their renewal application a completed form provided by the Board certifying that they have met the CE and CPR certification requirements set forth in these rules. Any optometric physician renewing a license more than 30 days after their due date, or restoring a lapsed license, will provide original documentation verifying that they have met the continuing education requirement per 852-050-0006, in addition to the form.

(2) The licensee is responsible for ensuring that all reported CE hours have been pre-approved by the Board before attesting to their completion. A licensee may not submit CE credit that has not been pre-approved by the Board.

(a) All requests for course approval must be received by the Board at least 30 days before the license renewal due date for consideration for credit for the current renewal period.

(b) If the Board does not approve the course(s) within the due date, the licensee must submit additional acceptable credits by the renewal due date or the renewal will be considered incomplete and late.

(3) The licensee is responsible for obtaining a completion certificate from the course sponsor for renewal and audit.

(4) Optometric Physicians must maintain accurate documentation and records of any claimed continuing education hours and CPR certification for no less than three years from the date of submission to the Board. Licensees must provide documentation of CE and CPR certification when requested by the Board per OAR 852-070-0020.

(5) The Board may audit licensees for compliance with CE and CPR certification by generating a random computer list of a Board determined percentage of renewing licensees on a regular basis. The Board may also include non-random individuals in the audit sample.

(a) Licensees selected for audit will have 21 days from notification to supply the agency with verification of their CE hours or CPR certification dates. Those selected for audit will be notified by first class mail to their address of record. Failure to comply or misrepresentation of compliance is grounds for disciplinary action for unprofessional conduct.

(b) Licensees who fail to respond with the requested documentation within 21 days will be assessed a civil penalty.

(c) If the licensee does not comply within 60 days of the date of the audit letter, the licensee will be sent a notice of license suspension for a minimum of 90 days.

(6) The Board may, in individual cases involving physical disability, illness or undue hardship, grant waivers of the minimum continuing education and CPR certification requirements or extensions of time within which to fulfill the same or make the required reports. Applications for waiver shall be made to the Board in writing at least two months prior to license renewal date.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683
Stats. Implemented: ORS 58, 63, 181, 182, 342, 408, 431, 646, 670,689
Hist.: OPT 1-2016, f. 2-23-16, cert. ef. 4-1-16

852-070-0045

Board Responsibility for Provision of Continuing Optometric Education

The Oregon Board of Optometry must provide or approve education programs to fulfill the requirements of this section

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683
Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.140 & 683.210
Hist.: OP 1-1996, f. 6-27-96, cert. ef. 7-1-96; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13

852-070-0047

Continuing Education Approval

(1) Licensees or course providers can submit appropriate courses for Board approval. In order to grant approval, a written request must be submitted at least 30 days in advance of the course or license renewal that includes:

(a) A completed agency request form

(b) Name and contact information of the course sponsor

(c) Date and location of the course or program, or a website with the course information

(d) A brief overview of the course content

(e) The number of clocks hours for the presentation. 1 hour is no less than 50 minutes of presentation time; 30 minutes is no less than 25 minutes of presentation time.

(f) Curriculum Vitae of the presenters

(2) Surgical clinics applying for surgical clinic observation CE time can submit a written request for CE approval by submitting the following information:

(a) Name and address of the clinic, along with all of the locations where observations may be performed

(b) The name and contact information for the primary contact for the clinic

(c) A brief description of the procedures that will be offered for observation

(d) Curriculum Vitae of the physicians who will be performing the procedures and observing the attendee

(e) The protocol established for monitoring and verifying the attendance of optometric physicans who observe procedures in the surgery facility

(f) A sample certificate of completion

(3) All submissions are reviewed by a licensed member of the Oregon Board of Optometry.

(4) Requestors will be notified of the approval or denial of their request in writing. Any denials will include the reason for denial.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683
Stats. Implemented: ORS 58, 63, 181, 182, 342, 408, 431, 646, 670,689
Hist.: OPT 1-2016, f. 2-23-16, cert. ef. 4-1-16

852-070-0054

COPE Approved Continuing Optometric Education Courses

(1) The Oregon Board of Optometry accepts courses related to the maintenance or advancement of professional skills and clinical abilities approved by COPE (Council on Optometric Practitioner Education). If such a course has been COPE approved, the Board will accept the course as meeting its continuing education requirements for license renewal except for courses in Category D as indicated in (4) below.

(2) COPE course category A: Clinical Optometry which includes Contact Lenses (CL), Functional Vision/Pediatrics (FV), General Optometry (GO), and Low Vision (LV).

(3) COPE course categories B: Ocular Disease and C: Related Systemic Disease are approved as meeting the Board’s nine hours per license year requirement of continuing optometric education in the area of diagnosis, treatment and management of ocular disease:

(a) Ocular Disease includes Glaucoma (GL), Injection Skills (IS), Laser Procedures (LP), Peri-Operative Management of Ophthalmic Surgery (PO), Refractive Surgery Management (RS), Surgery Procedures (SP), Treatment and Management of Ocular Disease: Anterior Segment (AS), and Treatment and Management of Ocular Disease: Posterior Segment (PS); and

(b) Related Systemic Disease includes Neuro-Optometry (NO), Oral Pharmaceuticals (OP), Pharmacology (PH), Principles of Diagnosis (PD), and Systemic/Ocular Disease (SD).

(4) COPE course category D, which includes Public Health (PB), Practice Management (PM) and Ethics/Jurisprudence (EJ), are not approved by the Oregon Board of Optometry, unless it is an optometric ethics course that has been individually evaluated and approved by the Board .

(5) It is the responsibility of the licensee to ensure that any continuing optometric education coursework submitted for credit meets the criteria of this rule.

(6) The Oregon Board of Optometry will review the COPE criteria for course category definitions to determine if the process and categories are within the standards it has set. Those COPE category definitions not acceptable to the Board will be identified to COPE and listed in the Board’s administrative rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683 & 182
Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.140, 683.210 & 182.466
Hist.: OP 1-1996, f. 6-27-96, cert. ef. 7-1-96; OP 2-1996, f. 10-30-96, cert. ef. 11-1-96; OPT 2-1999, f.12-29-99, cert. ef.1-1-00; OPT 1-2001, f. 6-18-01, cert. ef. 7-1-01; OPT 2-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 1-1-04; OPT 1-2009, f. 6-10-09, cert. ef. 7-1-09; Renumbered from 852-070-0060 by OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13

852-070-0055

Continuing Optometric Education Provided by Outside Entities

(1) All continuing optometric education provided by other organizations (non-COPE) must be submitted to the Board for approval before credit will be granted. Persons submitting courses for credit review must allow at least 30 days for the review. Renewing active status licensees may not count a course toward meeting the continuing education requirement before it is approved by the Board.

(2) Approval or denial of the continuing optometric education will be based on course:

(a) Relevance to modern optometric practice;

(b) Provision of skills or information which can translate to improved patient care;

(c) Content being recognized and accepted as sound scientific thought;

(d) Provision of heightened content standards needed by optometric physicians; and

(e) Presenter(s) credentials, as evidenced by a submitted curriculum vitae and an academic degree or combination of academic achievement and special expertise acceptable to the Board.

(3) The Board may accept continuing optometric education courses that have been approved by other organizations. This acceptance will be in accordance with the standards set by the Board.

(4) Courses acceptable to the Board for continuing education credit must be at least one half-hour in length, must be proctored for attendance, and the sponsor must provide original source documentation of successful completion to the attendee. Additional credits must be in half-hour increments.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683 & 182
Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.140, 683.210 & 182.466
Hist.: OP 1-1996, f. 6-27-96, cert. ef. 7-1-96; OPT 2-1999, f.12-29-99, cert. ef.1-1-00; OPT 1-2009, f. 6-10-09, cert. ef. 7-1-09; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13; OPT 2-2014, f. 11-28-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15; OPT 3-2014, f. 12-29-14, cert. ef. 1-1-15

852-070-0060 [Renumbered to 852-070-0054]

The official copy of an Oregon Administrative Rule is contained in the Administrative Order filed at the Archives Division, 800 Summer St. NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. Any discrepancies with the published version are satisfied in favor of the Administrative Order. The Oregon Administrative Rules and the Oregon Bulletin are copyrighted by the Oregon Secretary of State. Terms and Conditions of Use