Loading
 

 

Oregon Bulletin

November 1, 2012

Department of Consumer and Business Services, Building Codes Division, Chapter 918

Rule Caption: Amends continuing education requirements for license holders.

Adm. Order No.: BCD 9-2012

Filed with Sec. of State: 9-27-2012

Certified to be Effective: 10-1-12

Notice Publication Date: 7-1-2012

Rules Adopted: 918-035-0055

Rules Amended: 918-030-0100, 918-030-0120, 918-030-0125, 918-030-0130, 918-030-0135, 918-035-0020, 918-035-0040, 918-035-0050

Subject: These rules amend the code-change course requirements for persons licensed by the Building Codes Division by specifying the number of code-change hours for certain licenses, changing code-change course content requirements, adding separate Oregon rule and law requirements, and streamlining the course approval processes. These rules remove the requirement that all code-change courses contain materials about the Oregon amendments. These rules also clarify that licensees who take code-change courses covering only a national model code must still obtain continuing education on the Oregon amendments to that code. Finally, these rules allow for a streamlined course approval process for certain national code-development organizations.

Rules Coordinator: Stephanie Snyder—(503) 373-7438

918-030-0100

Continuing Education Generally

(1) OAR 918-030-0100 to 918-030-0150 establishes minimum continuing education requirements for licensees.

(2) The hourly continuing education requirements can be met by approved class, online or correspondence courses.

(3) When a continuing education course is taught in more than one session, credit is only granted upon completion of the entire course.

(4) Table 2-A lists the effective dates for the Oregon rule and law course requirements for specific licenses.

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 455.117
Stats. Implemented: ORS 455.117
Hist.: BCD 2-2004, f. 2-13-04, cert. ef. 4-1-04; BCD 10-2006(Temp), f. 6-30-06, cert. ef. 7-1-06 thru 12-28-06; BCD 13-2006, f. 9-29-06, cert. ef. 10-1-06; BCD 9-2012, f. 9-27-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12

918-030-0120

Licenses Requiring 24 Hours of Continuing Education

(1) During each three-year license cycle, the following license holders are required to complete 24 hours of approved continuing education. The hours must include code-change courses in the amounts below, and after the date listed in Table 2-A must include a 4-hour Oregon rule and law course meeting the standards established in OAR 918-035-0055. The Oregon rule and law course is counted toward the code-change hour requirement:

(a) General Supervising Electrician: must include 12 hours of code change;

(b) Limited Supervising Electrician: must include 12 hours of code change;

(c) General Journeyman Electrician: must include 8 hours of code change;

(d) Journeyman Plumber: must include 4 hours of code change.

(2) During each three-year license cycle, the following license holders are required to complete 24 hours of approved continuing education:

(a) Class 3 Boiler Building Service Mechanic;

(b) Class 4 Boiler Boilermaker;

(c) Class 5 Boiler Pressure-Piping Mechanic;

(d) Class 5A Boiler Process Piping Mechanic; and,

(e) Class 5B Boiler Refrigeration Piping Mechanic.

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 455.117
Stats. Implemented: ORS 455.117
Hist.: BCD 10-2006(Temp), f. 6-30-06, cert. ef. 7-1-06 thru 12-28-06; BCD 13-2006, f. 9-29-06, cert. ef. 10-1-06; BCD 10-2008, f. 6-30-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08; BCD 9-2012, f. 9-27-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12

918-030-0125

Licenses Requiring 16 Hours of Continuing Education

During each three-year license cycle, the following license holders are required to complete 16 hours of approved continuing education. The hours must include code-change courses in the amounts below, and after the date listed in Table 2-A must include a 4-hour Oregon rule and law course meeting the standards established in OAR 918-035-0055. The Oregon rule and law course is counted toward the code-change hours requirement:

(1) Limited Residential Electrician: must include 8 hours of code change.

(2) Limited Journeyman Manufacturing Plant Electrician: must include 8 hours of code change.

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 455.117
Stats. Implemented: ORS 455.117
Hist.: BCD 10-2006(Temp), f. 6-30-06, cert. ef. 7-1-06 thru 12-28-06; BCD 13-2006, f. 9-29-06, cert. ef. 10-1-06; BCD 10-2008, f. 6-30-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08; BCD 9-2012, f. 9-27-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12

918-030-0130

Licenses Requiring 8 Hours of Continuing Education

(1) During each three-year license cycle, the following license holders are required to complete 8 hours of approved continuing education. The hours must include code-change courses in the amounts below, and after the date listed in Table 2-A code-change courses must include Oregon rule and law material meeting the standards established in OAR 918-035-0055:

(a) Limited Maintenance Electrician; must include 2 hours of code change;

(b) Class A Limited Energy Technician; must include 8 hours of code change;

(c) Class B Limited Energy Technician; must include 2 hours of code change.

(2) During each three-year license cycle, the following license holders are required to complete 8 hours of approved continuing education:

(a) Solar Heating and cooling System Plumbing Installer; and,

(b) Class 2 Boiler Pressure Vessel Installer.

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 455.117
Stats. Implemented: ORS 455.117
Hist.: BCD 10-2006(Temp), f. 6-30-06, cert. ef. 7-1-06 thru 12-28-06; BCD 13-2006, f. 9-29-06, cert. ef. 10-1-06; BCD 10-2008, f. 6-30-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08; BCD 9-2012, f. 9-27-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12

918-030-0135

Licenses Requiring 4 Hours of Continuing Education

During each three-year license cycle, the following license holders are required to complete 4 hours of approved continuing education. The hours must include code-change in the amounts below, and after the date listed in Table 2-A code-change courses must include Oregon rule and law material meeting the standards established in OAR 918-035-0055:

(1) Limited Renewable Energy Technician; must include 2 hours of code change; and

(2) Limited Journeyman Sign Electrician; must include 2 hours of code change.

[ED. NOTE: Tables referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 455.117
Stats. Implemented: ORS 455.117
Hist.: BCD 10-2006(Temp), f. 6-30-06, cert. ef. 7-1-06 thru 12-28-06; BCD 13-2006, f. 9-29-06, cert. ef. 10-1-06; BCD 10-2008, f. 6-30-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08; BCD 9-2012, f. 9-27-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12

918-035-0020

Timeline for Approval; Term of Approval

(1) Application for course or instructor approval may be made at any time during the code cycle.

(2) Application for code-change course approval prior to code adoption as defined in OAR chapter 918, division 008 may be made at any time after the public notice of the 45-day comment period for the code adoption process.

(3) Courses and instructors are approved for the duration of the code-cycle and courses may be taught prior to the effective date of that code.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 455.117
Stats. Implemented: ORS 455.117
Hist.: BCD 10-2006(Temp), f. 6-30-06, cert. ef. 7-1-06 thru 12-28-06; BCD 13-2006, f. 9-29-06, cert. ef. 10-1-06; BCD 9-2012, f. 9-27-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12

918-035-0040

Minimum Requirements for Continuing Education Course Approval

(1) Except as provided in Section (2) of this rule, all continuing education courses must meet the following minimum requirements:

(a) Course instructors must be approved by the appropriate board or the division pursuant to these rules;

(b) The minimum course length is two hours or the equivalent for online or correspondence courses;

(c) The application for course or instructor approval must designate whether the course is for general continuing education credit, code-change credit, or Oregon rule and law credit; and

(d) The course must comply with the policies and procedures established by the appropriate board or the division for ensuring the quality and effectiveness of the course.

(2) Notwithstanding section (1) of this rule, the appropriate board may recognize code-development bodies or national organizations as continuing education providers without requiring them to submit specific courses to the division for approval. In approving a provider, the board will specify:

(a) The scope of the courses taught by the provider; and

(b) The type of credit to be awarded for various courses

Stat. Auth.: ORS 455.117
Stats. Implemented: ORS 455.117
Hist.: BCD 10-2006(Temp), f. 6-30-06, cert. ef. 7-1-06 thru 12-28-06; BCD 13-2006, f. 9-29-06, cert. ef. 10-1-06; BCD 9-2012, f. 9-27-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12

918-035-0050

Code-Change Course Content

(1) Code-change courses must cover:

(a) A national model code edition that is currently adopted in Oregon; or

(b) A national model code edition for which the division has given public notice of the 45-day comment period for proposed amendments that initiates the code adoption process.

(2) If required by rule, a code-change course may contain material on Oregon rule and law as specified in OAR 918-035-0055.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 455.117
Stats. Implemented: ORS 455.117
Hist.: BCD 10-2006(Temp), f. 6-30-06, cert. ef. 7-1-06 thru 12-28-06; BCD 13-2006, f. 9-29-06, cert. ef. 10-1-06; BCD 9-2012, f. 9-27-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12

918-035-0055

Oregon Rule and Law Course Content

The appropriate advisory board or the division develops content requirements for Oregon rule and law courses. The content requirements must include but are not limited to the following:

(1) Permit processes and requirements;

(2) Instruction on the scope of work allowed under a given license; and

(3) The Oregon amendments to the currently adopted edition of the appropriate national model code, or the proposed Oregon amendments that are included in the notice of proposed rulemaking hearing filed with the Secretary of State as part of the code adoption process, including alternate method rulings and interpretations.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 455.117
Stats. Implemented: ORS 455.117
Hist.: BCD 9-2012, f. 9-27-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12


 

Rule Caption: Electrical vehicle service equipment permit and inspection criteria.

Adm. Order No.: BCD 10-2012

Filed with Sec. of State: 9-28-2012

Certified to be Effective: 10-1-12

Notice Publication Date: 9-1-2012

Rules Amended: 918-311-0065

Subject: This rule updates the permitting and inspection criteria for electric vehicle service equipment (EVSE). Manufacturers have developed level 2 service equipment that require a 30 or 40 amp branch circuit rather than a feeder. Previous technology used only feeders. This rule provides uniform and consistent permit and inspection requirements for EVSE. Currently local jurisdictions attempting to follow the rule are requiring feeder permits for EVSE that require branch circuits.

Rules Coordinator: Stephanie Snyder—(503) 373-7438

918-311-0065

Electric Vehicle Charging Systems Statewide Permit and Inspection Protocol

To ensure a path for the emerging technology and enable the installation of charging systems for electric vehicles the following permit and inspection protocols will apply throughout the state, notwithstanding contrary provisions contained in the Oregon Electrical Specialty Code. This Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) permit covers the installation of all electrical components dedicated to the operation of an electric vehicle charging system. No other state building code permit is required.

(1) Building officials and inspectors shall permit and allow installation of an electric vehicle charging system that has a Building Codes Division special deputy certification label without further testing or certification.

(2) Persons installing an electric vehicle charging system must obtain a permit from the inspecting jurisdiction for the EVSE.

(3)(a) The permit shall be a flat fee based on an inspecting jurisdiction’s feeder permit fee for circuit of equivalent size to cover the cost of enforcement and inspection of the items listed in sub-section (4).

(b) Permits issued under this rule include up to two inspections.

(4) Inspection of an EVSE installation is limited to determining compliance with the following Oregon Electrical Specialty Code provisions:

(a) Overcurrent protection, per articles 225 and 240;

(b) Physical protection of conductors, per article 300;

(c) Separation and sizing of the grounding and neutral conductors, per article 250.20; and

(d) Provisions for locking out the disconnecting means for maintenance, per chapter 4.

(5) If an electric vehicle charging system is mounted in or on a pedestal that is not attached to a structure, as defined by the Oregon Electrical Specialty Code, the installation of a grounding electrode system to supplement lightning protection is allowed but cannot be required.

(6) An electrical contractor employing a general supervising electrician in accordance with OAR 918-282-0010 is authorized to use a minor installation label to install a new branch circuit limited to 40 amps 240 volts for the purpose of installing a wall mounted EVSE unit in the garage of one and two family dwellings, and connect a listed wall mounted EVSE unit to that branch circuit. The electrical panel where the circuit originates must be in the garage within sight from the EVSE unit. This provision does not apply to installations in wet or damp locations.

Stat. Auth: ORS 455.065
Stats. Implemented: ORS 455.065
Hist.: BCD 16-2008(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-26-08 thru 3-25-09; BCD 30-2008, f. 12-31-08, cert. ef 1-1-09; BCD 8-2010, f. 6-15-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; BCD 4-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-1-12 thru 9-30-12; BCD 10-2012, f. 9-28-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12


 

Rule Caption: Amendments to the arc-fault circuit interrupter requirement of the National Electric Code.

Adm. Order No.: BCD 11-2012(Temp)

Filed with Sec. of State: 10-5-2012

Certified to be Effective: 1-1-13 thru 6-29-13

Notice Publication Date:

Rules Amended: 918-305-0105

Subject: This rule expands the requirement for the arc-fault circuit interrupter (AFCI) protection in dwelling units. The rule also adds an exception to the required AFCI protection for a limited number of branch circuits supplying one or more outlets serving in a single room of a dwelling unit. This temporary rule will expire on June 29, 2013.

Rules Coordinator: Stephanie Snyder—(503) 373-7438

918-305-0105

Amendments to the Oregon Electrical Specialty Code

(1) The Oregon Electrical Specialty Code is adopted and amended pursuant to OAR chapter 918, Division 8. Amendments adopted for inclusion into the Oregon Electrical Specialty Code are placed in this rule, showing the section reference and a descriptive caption. Amendments to the Oregon Electrical Specialty Code are printed in their entirety in Table 1-E.

(2) Effective January 1, 2013 amend Section 210.12(A) Arc-Fault Circuit Interrupter Protection by:

(a) Adding “alcoves”;

(b) Deleting “hallways”; and

(c) Adding two exceptions and an informational note.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available for review from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.730 & 455.610
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.730 & 455.610
Hist.: BCD 23-2004, f. 12-15-04, cert. ef. 4-1-05; BCD 6-2008, f. 3-7-08, cert. ef. 4-1-08; BCD 3-2011, f. 3-11-11, cert. ef. 4-1-11; BCD 5-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-7-12 thru 10-31-12; BCD 11-2012(Temp), f. 10-5-12, cert. ef. 1-1-13 thru 6-29-13


 

Rule Caption: Delay of the Oregon Electrical Specialty Code provisions of the expanded arc-fault circuit interrupter requirement.

Adm. Order No.: BCD 12-2012(Temp)

Filed with Sec. of State: 10-5-2012

Certified to be Effective: 11-1-12 thru 12-31-12

Notice Publication Date:

Rules Adopted: 918-305-0107

Subject: This rule delays implementation of a requirement for arc-fault circuit interrupter (AFCI) protection in family rooms, dining rooms, living rooms, parlors, libraries, dens, sunrooms, recreation rooms, closets, or similar rooms and areas. This temporary rule will expire on December 31, 2012.

Rules Coordinator: Stephanie Snyder—(503) 373-7438

918-305-0107

Amendment to the Oregon Electrical Specialty Code Arc Fault Circuit Interrupter Protection

(1) The Oregon Electrical Specialty Code is adopted and amended pursuant to OAR chapter 918, division 8. This rule amends the Arc-Fault Circuit Interrupter Protection requirements in dwelling units. Amendments to the Oregon Electrical Specialty Code are printed in their entirety in Table 1-E.

(2) Section 210.12(A) Arc-Fault Circuit Interrupter Protection. Section 210.12(A) is amended by deleting “family rooms, dining rooms, living rooms, parlors, libraries, dens, sunrooms, recreation rooms, closets, hallways, or similar rooms or areas” through December 31, 2012.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available for review from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 479.730 & 455.610
Stats. Implemented: ORS 479.730 & 455.610
Hist.: BCD 12-2012(Temp), f. 10-5-12, cert. ef. 11-1-12 thru 12-31-12

Notes
1.) This online version of the OREGON BULLETIN is provided for convenience of reference and enhanced access. The official, record copy of this publication is contained in the original Administrative Orders and Rulemaking Notices filed with the Secretary of State, Archives Division. Discrepancies, if any, are satisfied in favor of the original versions. Use the OAR Revision Cumulative Index found in the Oregon Bulletin to access a numerical list of rulemaking actions after November 15, 2011.

2.) Copyright 2012 Oregon Secretary of State: Terms and Conditions of Use

Oregon Secretary of State • 136 State Capitol • Salem, OR 97310-0722
Phone: (503) 986-1523 • Fax: (503) 986-1616 • oregon.sos@state.or.us

© 2013 State of Oregon All Rights Reserved​